I am tired and have slept really well once I’ve finally gone to bed each night this week.  I think it’s just because I’m so exhausted.  I often don’t sleep well.  I hate that.  I really hate that.  And here I sit, with bad braided extensions in honor of the pending Multicultural Week that I created at my job (love this part) in my office blogging.  I’ve caught up on my weekly tv shows online, cleared several things off my plate (and desk) and accomplished a fair bit.  However, it never seems enough and so here I sit.

sigh.

 

I’m going home.  I’m trying to blog more.  Push myself to write, to journal, talk to God, find my center in him, not in late night texts or dreams of what ‘could be.’  Right now I appear to be at the high avoidance stage.  Perhaps collapse and caving will occur this weekend?  Until then I’m off to home to get up early to be on the radio at 7:30 tomorrow and again Friday (different station) at 7:40.  Love that I’m friends with both deejays.

 

all times are mountain. 🙂

Advertisements

It’s nice to know that some of you are keeping up with the blog regardless of how rarely I write these days.  I hope that you keep stopping by my friends.

I love to read.  There are always fond memories of my reading.

I have a recollection of the summer reading program as a child.  I remember walking the shelves of the city library looking for books and my mom recommending one.  It was something about a boy in Spain, I think.  I cannot remember exactly but that book has been on my mind often in the past months.  I don’t know why.

Last year a friend had a goal of reading 40 books so I thought I would join her.  I almost made it.  This year I cut my goal back to 30 and have surpassed it and it isn’t November yet.  Yea!

I love to read fiction, as well as things that will improve my knowledge of the world.  You?

Right now I’m in the middle of several books right now.  My non-fiction reading always takes a bit longer than my fiction.  I have a stack of books waiting to be opened, as I’m sure many of you do as well.  I thought I was doing so well with all of my reading until a women mentioned that the first year after she retired she read 200 books or some such craziness.

I’m involved in a book club right now.  It was started in the 20’s by a bunch of teachers that didn’t have time to read everything they wanted to so they came together twice a month to hear the stories others had read.  We meet and have a brief meeting and then one woman reports on and reads from a book she chooses to share.  It is a wonderful time of hearing what strikes others’ hearts and sharing stories afterwards as we share dessert, coffee and tea.

It was my turn to share a book last month.  I had been thinking about which book to share since I joined the club and still couldn’t decide.  It was the day before when I was finally decided.  I opted to go with one of my favorites, Safely Home by Randy Alcorn.  I did my thesis on this book and I love it.  It’s about the persecuted church in China.  I ended up crying through the telling and people seemed to enjoy it.

If you could share only one story with some friends, which would it be?

I was going through the pain of goodbye.  I was saying goodbye to my coworkers, my guards, my neighbors, my movie dealer, my market vendors, my guest house hosts, my taxi driver, my friends.  It hurts my heart today and I’m hoping I make it through the day without crying but doubt it.  It’s good to remember what God has given.  He didn’t take it away, he just showed me a new place with new friends that one day, I will also have to leave.  God, you have given me so much and continued to build on the lessons you started in me during my time in Kenya.  I praise you!  May your name be glorified in my life.

I’m speaking at Rotary today.  This is not going to be easy.

Don’t think I live my life in sadness wishing for nothing but to return to Kenya.  That is not true.  I miss my life there and would love to return someday, for a visit, I think.  But today, as I remember leaving everything to march (well, fly) into the unknown, I remember with joy and sorrow the bittersweet of goodbye and I just need a moment.

I review for BookSneeze

I previously mentioned that I had joined Booksneeze for free books and such.  Well, my first foray into this arena was a dvd.  I watched Sheila Walsh’s Gigi, God’s Little Princess:  Gigi’s Hugest Announcement.  Honestly, it was too much for me.  I had to turn it off once.  I had a friend staying with me a few weeks later and she agreed to watch it with me.  The video is targeting young girls under 10, I would say.  It’s not fully animated and reminds me of those old felt boards from VBS.  Not in a bad way, that’s just what came to mind.

They are cute videos that focus on how because our heavenly Father is King of Kings, then we, as his children are daughter’s of the King – or princesses.  It’s very simple for children to understand but I think there is probably better material out there if you are wanting to share the importance of Jesus with your daughter.  I don’t have a daughter but I think that not all parents want to encourage the princess motif.  If you are one of those I would skip this dvd series.  If you don’t mind and in fact love it, then this is a good series for you to enjoy with your daughter.  She will enjoy the pinks and frills and fun stories.  They are light, silly and fun and ultimately – about Jesus in your life.

Wow, you know it’s been awhile when you type in a website and it doesn’t automatically fill-in.  Sorry about that, my friends.  Are there still any of you reading this blog?  I hope so.

I want to share an article with you about CRWRC.  This article was given to me recently after I spoke at a Christian Reformed Church in Denver.  I had a great time and there was a sense of ‘going home’ as I looked around surrounded by all those tall Dutch folks.  And never fear, Dutch bingo was played, just not Dutch Blitz.

You have read a lot on this blog about sustainability as I’ve continued to learn about better stewardship.  There was a recent article on the CRWRC site that I thought I would share with you as I gear up to continue blogging regularly here.  I know!  I know!  I’ve said that before but I’m really going to work on it.  My life is terribly busy but who’s isn’t?  I am really annoyed and hurt when people tell me that they haven’t been in touch.   My life is busy and that is no excuse.  If I can be on facebook, I can blog here.  Thank you very much.

I digress.  Have a beautiful week, my friends!

I review for BookSneeze

I was invited by my good friend, Friar Tuck, to participate in a Lenten blog.  This is the first time I’ve been part of a group blog and I hope that you’ll check it out and be challenged and blessed and do the same for us.

Straight from the Dryer

I’m trying to get into the groove and into the community here in Lamar.  I moved in 1 Oct and still mostly only really know those at the college that I work with and it’s a good thing I work with some awesome folks up there, I tell ya.

I have been invited to join and have been attneding the Tuesday Book Club since the beginning of Jan.  We meet twice a month and share a tasty treat of literature and food and tea.  This club is in the vein of The Gurnsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows if you have read it.  My understanding is that it started back in the ’20’s here in Lamar.   A group of teachers really wanted to read more books than their time allowed so they decided to get together twice a month and hear book reports.  We have a constitution and by-laws and annual dues ($4 – with your first year free).  It’s fun and a neat a varied group of women.  I’m enjoying getting to know these women.

The public library in town is starting a new book club this coming Thursday and it’s more along the traditional book club lines.  We will meet once a month and should all have read the book and we’ll discuss it.   I am really looking forward to this club!  This is really what I was looking for in the first place and I’m excited to meet some more folks.  Our first book is Songs for the Butcher’s Daughter by Peter Manseau.  I have not even started.  It’s looking to be a book filled week with very few movies.

Today, besides doing the dishes and laundry and making supper, my goal is to finish up one of my ILL.  I tried to do so before Christmas but couldn’t get it done before it was due.  It’s by Aminata Forna – The Devil that Danced on the Water.  It’s about the war in Sierra Leone and I’ve only got about 100 pages left.  I think I’ll start a fire before long and set to reading.

I love to read and to be able to share books with others is a real treasure.  If you have any books you think I should add to my ever-growing ‘to read’ list, feel free to let me know the title, author and why I should read it.  Note that I’m a chicken and live by myself so nothing scary please.

“Just a little line.  And yet it quickly feels like a huge rope that binds.  A rope of stigma, injustice, discrimination and judgement.”

“. . . if I’m honest it’s my human nature to draw little lines.”

I would like to share this brief post by my friend, Melissa.

I haven’t thought of HIV/AIDS in awhile.  Just Friday I had mentioned to a coworker that one of the men was wearing hearing aids, just a random thing I’d noticed as I sat at the back of a workshop bored during one particularly circular conversation.  Later on, we saw this man outside and I nodded towards him and told her he was the one ‘with the aides.’  My friend immediately thought I was talking of HIV and gave me an odd look.  It was then that I realized what I’d said. 

(Where IS my brain sometimes?)

I am a different person than when I went to Africa, but not always in the ways I and others think I should be. 

Where are my lines?  When is it OK and even good to cross them?  When should I run screaming and flailing across the line and help people erase the line all together?

Dear Lord, please help me to see the lines that need to be crossed and show me the way to stop making them in the first place.

October 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031