I love to read.  There are always fond memories of my reading.

I have a recollection of the summer reading program as a child.  I remember walking the shelves of the city library looking for books and my mom recommending one.  It was something about a boy in Spain, I think.  I cannot remember exactly but that book has been on my mind often in the past months.  I don’t know why.

Last year a friend had a goal of reading 40 books so I thought I would join her.  I almost made it.  This year I cut my goal back to 30 and have surpassed it and it isn’t November yet.  Yea!

I love to read fiction, as well as things that will improve my knowledge of the world.  You?

Right now I’m in the middle of several books right now.  My non-fiction reading always takes a bit longer than my fiction.  I have a stack of books waiting to be opened, as I’m sure many of you do as well.  I thought I was doing so well with all of my reading until a women mentioned that the first year after she retired she read 200 books or some such craziness.

I’m involved in a book club right now.  It was started in the 20’s by a bunch of teachers that didn’t have time to read everything they wanted to so they came together twice a month to hear the stories others had read.  We meet and have a brief meeting and then one woman reports on and reads from a book she chooses to share.  It is a wonderful time of hearing what strikes others’ hearts and sharing stories afterwards as we share dessert, coffee and tea.

It was my turn to share a book last month.  I had been thinking about which book to share since I joined the club and still couldn’t decide.  It was the day before when I was finally decided.  I opted to go with one of my favorites, Safely Home by Randy Alcorn.  I did my thesis on this book and I love it.  It’s about the persecuted church in China.  I ended up crying through the telling and people seemed to enjoy it.

If you could share only one story with some friends, which would it be?

