I’m trying to get into the groove and into the community here in Lamar.  I moved in 1 Oct and still mostly only really know those at the college that I work with and it’s a good thing I work with some awesome folks up there, I tell ya.

I have been invited to join and have been attneding the Tuesday Book Club since the beginning of Jan.  We meet twice a month and share a tasty treat of literature and food and tea.  This club is in the vein of The Gurnsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows if you have read it.  My understanding is that it started back in the ’20’s here in Lamar.   A group of teachers really wanted to read more books than their time allowed so they decided to get together twice a month and hear book reports.  We have a constitution and by-laws and annual dues ($4 – with your first year free).  It’s fun and a neat a varied group of women.  I’m enjoying getting to know these women.

The public library in town is starting a new book club this coming Thursday and it’s more along the traditional book club lines.  We will meet once a month and should all have read the book and we’ll discuss it.   I am really looking forward to this club!  This is really what I was looking for in the first place and I’m excited to meet some more folks.  Our first book is Songs for the Butcher’s Daughter by Peter Manseau.  I have not even started.  It’s looking to be a book filled week with very few movies.

Today, besides doing the dishes and laundry and making supper, my goal is to finish up one of my ILL.  I tried to do so before Christmas but couldn’t get it done before it was due.  It’s by Aminata Forna – The Devil that Danced on the Water.  It’s about the war in Sierra Leone and I’ve only got about 100 pages left.  I think I’ll start a fire before long and set to reading.

I love to read and to be able to share books with others is a real treasure.  If you have any books you think I should add to my ever-growing ‘to read’ list, feel free to let me know the title, author and why I should read it.  Note that I’m a chicken and live by myself so nothing scary please.

