Martin Luther King, Jr was killed in ’68.

Brown vs. the Topeka Board of Education and the Civil Rights Act were in ’64.

Amy Rebeka Thompson was born in ’73.

Not only have I used the last two years to learn about Kenya and community development but also racism, African American culture and history.  I still sometimes feel like I know nothing but I’m trying.

I look at the dates above and marvel at all the history.  Those three monumental things happened less than ten years before I was born.  That’s amazing to me.  We’ve come so far and yet, we still have a long way to go.

I don’t pretend to know or understand the life of minority.  I definitely was in the minority in Africa.  And yet, it was nothing like what I hear my friends saying their lives are like at times.

I don’t have any miraculous breakthrough.  I was just doing some reading earlier this week and realized how close these things happened to the beginning of my life.  I think maybe I need to have some conversations with my family to see what they saw and experienced in that time.

If nothing else, these past two years have been a huge learning experience for me and the learning continues.

