I’ve always thought I could hide my feelings.  I don’t know why I bother.  I can’t.  I’m sure that some of you are laughing right now and saying, ‘no kidding!’  A girl can dream, right? 

 

When I’m happy you know it.  When I’m sad or stressed you know it, too. 

 

Last March I was on a site visit with a couple of coworkers.  It was hot.  I know that I’m prone to a bit of exaggeration, but seriously, this was HOT!  Even my coworker who grew up there was sweating.  I thought I was hiding it well and taking one for the team and being tough and all.  Nope.  Oscar said they looked up and saw me trudging up a hill with my wide-brimmed hat on and looking straight down (I was afraid if I stopped I’d never start again).  One of the people we were with said, I know you are tired, we are almost finished, I promise.  I was surprised because I thought I was covering quite well.  Guess not.  We all still laugh about that trip.  It was a great trip, regardless of the heat.

 

I went to the office today after Laura left last night.  For those of you that don’t know, Lady Laura and I have been friends since she moved to Liberal when we were in the first grade.  I have not always been kind to her but she has given me grace and loved me anyway.  So, anyway, we go waaaaaaaaaay back.  It would be hard to watch her leave regardless, but with me leaving in three weeks myself my emotions are rolling high so it was worse.  I thought I was fine until tonight at supper.  I was dining at Tusky’s, a grocery store that has a little café, with two of my coworkers.  I mentioned that I was ready to cry at a moment’s notice and they both said that they knew something was wrong due to my solemnity at the office today.  They could tell from my face (and lack of volume) today.  I thought I was ok, although perhaps just a bit subdued.

 

Well, guess not.

