I sit here at my desk looking at a new and fairly blank planner. 

I know it will not be long before the pages begin to fill, both in pencil and ink, with work and play, with deadlines and goals, with travel and appointments.  I already have birthdays, anniversaries and upcoming nuptiuals listed.  My goal is to have my schedule for the rest of my time in Kenya by the end of this week. 

I am busy with work and it is going really well.  I have oriented, traveled with, bargained at the market alongside, and debriefed several visitors.  Two more people or groups are coming in next month.  It’s been amazing to really look at my work and enjoy it all.  This only makes leaving harder.

This will be another year filled with newness.  New job, new place to live, new travels, new countries, new friends, new marriages (not mine that I’m aware of, but two friends got engaged last week), new things to learn . . .

I’m excited!  I’m looking forward to what God has in store with eager anticipation.  I’m a little excited, a little nervous, a little sad, a little anxious, a little . . .

                        content.  Before I left for Kenya, my friends Karla and Angie gave me a desk frame with various cards about Grace.  The one I’m looking at right now is from Max Lucado’s In the Grip of Grace.

        Content . . . .  A state of heart in which you would be at peace if God gave you nothing more than he already has.

That’s where I am today.  I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but I pray only more of the same.  Thank you for all of your prayers for me.  You are a gift and I praise God for you and that your prayers for me will be answered for you as well – peace, contentment, the future, grace. 

Well, my friends – here’s to the NEW!

