The idea of Punishment Island was already in the back of my head somewhere, for some reason.  It sounded familiar as soon as Pastor James mentioned it but I couldn’t believe it.

I mentioned that while I was in Uganda, I visited Lake Bunyonyi.  It was there as we were overlooking the lake, waiting for breakfast, that Pastor James pointed out Punishment Island.  Later, completely independantly of Pastor James, Carole pointed out the same island and said, “Is that Punishment Island?”

Here is a close up photo (not taken by me).

There is more than one Punishment Island.  The idea is that when a woman became pregnant out of wedlock she was put on the small island with no resources to die.  This was to teach others to not follow her example. 

I’m told that when missionaries arrived they strongly discouraged this practice and it died out.

