I am currently reading Oscar Romero’s The Violence of Love and am using it during my devotions.  The book is a collection of his comments from sermons, speeches and such and I want to share a few with you this week.  May you be blessed and challenged as I am.

 Let us not tire of preaching love;
  it is the fore that will overcome the world.
Let us not tire of preaching love.
   Though we see that waves of violence succeed in drowning the fire of Christian love,
   love must win out; it is the only thing that can.

September 25, 1977

How I would like to engrave this great idea on each one’s heart:
Christianity is not a collection of truths to be believed,
   of laws to be oeyed,
   of prohibitions.
That makes it very distasteful.
Christianity is a person,
   one who loved us so much,
   one who calls for our love.
Christianity is Christ.

November 6, 1977

