We have office devotions every Monday morning around 9 am our time (I’m 9 hours ahead of CST).  Since we came back after holiday and the elections, devotions have focused on the current situation and been a time of debriefing for everyone.

One Monday last month I took some notes.  I have shown them to the staff and not identified anyone and they have agreed to let me share these thoughts with you to give you a Kenyan perspective instead of my American perspective.  It’s a blessing to sit in these devotions and here people be honest and genuine and seek and hunger for God’s righteousness and truth and what that means right now in the ‘heat of the battle.’

If you have any questions for my staff, please leave a comment and I will try and get a response for you. 

These are thoughts that do not have resolution, they are ideas, concerns and prayers that I am sharing with you.

  • What is happening here is like slavery in the US; the holocaust in Europe; Vietnam.  The people fight before there is stabilization
  • We need to repent. 
  • How can we stand in the gap as individuals and organizations?
  • Misunderstanding is guided by fear
  • One of the expatriates asked forgiveness as an outsider.  He asked for forgiveness for the role that governments where often they are or seem more focused on economics instead of the Kenyan people.
  • Was the election a scapegoat – an excuse for vengeance?
  • That reminded me of something that I believe that Ghandi said, ‘an eye for an eye makes the world go blind.’
  • One of my coworkers mentioned how she was a refugee in her own city.  She moved in with family during the worst of the rioting in early Jan.  She has moved back into her own home after about five days.
  • Someone said, “I’m calm but I’m not at peace.”
  • “I am praying for God to restore peace in my heart.”
  • We need more healing.  As people heal, more hurt appears.
  • Gen. 1:28
    • “God blessed them and said to them, ‘Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it.  Rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air and over every living creature that moves on the ground.’”
    • If God has given me authority, I have to accept some blame for what is happening.
    • We are kings and queens on earth for Christ and yet we didn’t ‘rule.’
    • I’m taking blame as a Christian.  If I stood as I should have, as God has called me to stand, this war could have been lessened.  Where was I?  Where was the prophetic voice of the Church?  Where is the prophetic voice of me?  I didn’t play my role well.
    • This conversation reminded me of the old song:
      • I am the church, you are the church, we are the church together.
  • When you are born again, you cease to be a Luo or a German, and you become a child of God so we can be brothers.  We join a new tribe, the tribe of Judah.
  • We have free-will and must accept our part of the blame.  We are to blame and must point fingers at ourselves.
  • ‘let my people go’
  • Are we like the Israelites and God is allowing someone’s heart to be hardened?  Why?
  • We are instruments of Christ.  What song shall we play?  Will we play in harmony?
  • The poverty level is about 60% in Kenya and we are not talking about poverty.  We’re talking tribe.  Who is fighting on the streets?  It is mostly the poor and the middle and upper class are at home, ok. 
