That’s right, it’s that time of year again to start getting geared up for Pancake Day!

 My hometown of Liberal, Kansas, puts on a big hoorah each year on Shrove Tuesday, or Fat Tuesday, and we call it Pancake Day.  This is the day where traditionally, you needed to use up all of your cooking fat because Lent starts the next day and it is a time of sacrifice, including fat-free cooking.

We’ve been doing this over 50 years.  School is cancelled and the festivities run all weekend long.  It’s great!  I just love it.  My dream is to one day be the Pancake Day Chairwoman.  I would rock at that!  Of course, that means that I have to live in Liberal for awhile and I’m not ready to do that just yet. 

This year, Pancake Day is the earliest it has been in a long time – Feb. 5.  So get ready and start mapping out your pancake meals (I usually eat them at least twice.  Who am I kidding?  I don’t remember the last time I didn’t eat pancakes for all three meals.)  Share the tradition with someone new.  I know that since I left college, the culture and joy of Pancake Day has spread to Nasvhville, Tennessee; Sterling, Kansas; the Twin Cities in Minnesota; Little Rock, Arkansas; Longview, Texas; Dallas, Texas; Tokyo, Japan and yup, now Nairobi, Kenya. 

They do have pancakes here but they are more like what I am used to calling crepes.  They are tastey but not as good as the pancakes that I will be making that night at home with my official Pancake Day pancake batter that my folks sent me. 

Speaking of my folks, did I tell you that my dad is in charge of the Pancake Day Hall of Fame?  He rocks!

So be sure to stop in at your local IHOP, Waffle House or Denny’s, Mr. Breakfast, Paddy’s or other local breakfast haunt for some tastey, light and fluffy pancakes this coming Tuesday Feb. 5.  You will not regret it, I promise.  Also be sure to check out the website for all the good details and swing over and read my sister’s blog about Pancake Day – it’s a keeper!

