It’s 2 am on Jan. 1, 2008.  I often have to go through and write 2008 on several checks so that I don’t forget.  That’s not a problem for me this year as I don’t write any checks here.

I’m lying on my couch listening to music coming from somewhere.  There were firecrackers around us at midnight and my first thought was that the shooting had arrived in our neighborhood.  One of my coworkers can hear shots from his home.

My boss has called a meeting for everyone who can safely arrive on Wed morning at the office.  I will be there. 

We received a call tonight from one of the directors to give us the heads up on emergency safety, evacuation, etc.  Evacuation?  We asked if there was stuff going on that we didn’t know about.  We have no TV and the radio news isn’t very helpful.  Have I mentioned that the government has stopped all live broadcasts?

We went to the grocery store today and stood in line for 2 hours to check out.  I finally left to walk back to my place to get the car because we bought so much to stock up. 

I’m tired.  I’ve spent the majority of my waking hours, or at least half of them, watching Scrubs, season two.

Dear Lord, protect this nation.  Let the corruption come to an end and honesty and integrity prevail.

