I send out an e-update every month or so called AfricaFAQs. After hitting send I usually get a lot more hits on my blog and many emails. It’s great! The emails that I’ve received this month have had some great questions in them that I thought you might like to know the answers to as well so I’m going to post them here for you all to enjoy.

Q: Do you get scared? – Jenny

A: I do sometimes get scared. Of a variety of things. Being mugged. Being in a wreck (CRAZY drivers here). Being alone and/or only living in an alienated ‘white’ world. Missing out on all the ‘good stuff’ at home and being forgotten. I do trust God and know that I am not alone. People around the world are praying for me and I know and see the fruits of those prayers (less fear). I also know that God has a plan and I just have to go with it so away I go. There are only so many things that I can do and the rest is up to Him. I mean, I look around and realize I’m in Kenya and I know that is all about God.

Q: Am I able to snail mail you things? — Shari

Q: Can I send you a letter with normal postage or do I have to add more since it’s international? – Jenny

A: A letter will cost more and I think it’s about .90 or so. The US mail takes 3 weeks or so I’m told. (I received a package from my folks that took about that long and I had to pay a minimal post office fee.  I understand that depending on the contents, which you have to display for customs, I may also have to pay a customs fee.) And be forewarned that it can be a bit expensive it sounds like but probably the cheapest of any other way for sending a package.

Q: Met any interesting men? – Jen

A: Yes, there is no shortage of ‘interesting’ here.

Q: Anything I pray for you about? – Jen

A: There’s a page here that list lots of prayer requests and praises but in a note I’d ask for prayers that I can let go of my frustration of not being in control of my life by not having a car. I still have freedom, it just takes a lot longer to get anywhere and get things done without a vehicle. This is the first time I’ve been without a car since my freshman year at SC. Secondly, please pray for my family and I as we are preparing to spend our first Christmas apart.

Q: Have you eaten anything that you thought you never would? — Cheryl

Q: Have you come across monkey brains at the corner market yet? — Jeffrey K

A: No monkey brains. I know that you’re disappointed, well at least Jeff is I know. I did see dried monkey head and hands and feet at the fetish market in downtown Bamako, Mali though. I couldn’t take pictures, but believe me, I am not sure you would have wanted to see them anyway. I have eaten things that I thought I never would but partly because I didn’t know they existed, like tree tomatoes. One thing that I like but I think is good weird is matoke. It’s made of green bananas. That’s a special kind of banana, not just regular bananas from Cub or Kroger that aren’t ripe yet. Then you can mash them or leave them in bites and cook them with spices and it tastes like mashed potatoes. I didn’t actually believe them when they told me what it was the first time I had it for lunch.  This week I went to Carnivore for the first time and ate lots of meat, the most unusual being crocodile (which has lots of bones, like fish, and is a bit sweet) and ostrich (which was served like roast beef and quite tastey).

Q: What’s the weather like? — Dad

A: Several of you have written about the weather where you are and it’s a good reminder for me. I live near the equator and the sun comes up between 6-7 each morning and goes down between 6-7 each night, all year long. It’s getting chilly here as we enter the short rainy season (about Oct. through Dec.). I’ve only once wished I’d had my John Deere jacket or Sleeping Fawn hoodie with me though a few times.

Q: What is this South show you’ve mentioned? – Andrea

A: It’s called Due South and it was a series in the States for awhile in the 90’s maybe? The people that I stayed with in Mali had three seasons on DVD and me and my OCD self had to watch them all, in order. When I left I hadn’t seen them all and missed them. Then I found that they were on TV here in Nairobi Tuesday nights at 10:35. But that was only for about a month and then it was Dallas. So I don’t really know how that works, but it was fun while it lasted.

Q: What are people from Nairobi called? – Amy L

A: I was gonna go with Kenyan but I asked my coworker, Betty and she said Nairobian.

Q: Are you getting into recycling? – Lynda

A: I’ve recycled for a long time. I’m trying to find ways to do it here and encourage others as well. I think it’s a part of being a good steward of what the Lord has provided for me. (I also think it’s perhaps easier to do in North America than in Africa.) One of my coworkers is going to take my glass to Kitengala for me and the school that his wife teaches at recycles paper. We’ve not found a place to recycle cardboard or plastic bottles though yet and most people don’t use aluminum pop cans (just me and my Dr. P) so there’s no place for those either.

Q: How is it in the new pad? — Alida

A: There’s a couple of posts pending on that topic. But simply great!

Thank you all for your emails and great questions. Keep them coming!

