Water is a precious resource everywhere.  That is much more clear to me here in Nairobi where in some places we often find ourselves without water.  It’s rare that there is water running through the pipes in our office restroom.  Many people keep big barrels of water available to help with necessary things like washing hands and helping to flush the toilet.  I am fortunate that I do not have to do that in my apartment building.

 

I’ve talked off and on about conservation so here are some tips to help conserve water wherever you live.

 

Fix any leaking faucets or pipes.  This helps maintain your home and save money on your water bill as well as saving water.  To test if your toilet tank is leaking you can put some food coloring in the tank and see if it shows up in your bowl before someone uses it next.

 

I remember my grandparents cabin out in Colorado when I was growing up.  They had a big barrel that caught rainwater from the roof and this is the water that they used to water their plants.  They didn’t have a large amount of gardening and it was a great source of nutrients for the plants that they did grow.  This water could also be used to wash your car.

 

Buy a low-flow toilet to use less water when flushing.  You can also try putting a rock or brick in the toilet tank.  We tried this when I was in high school and the toilet didn’t then have enough force to get to the outside pipe and caused problems so just be careful when trying this technique.  And as my grampa always said, “If it’s yellow let it mellow, if it’s brown flush it down.”

 

Don’t let the water run when you’re brushing your teeth.

 

Cover the pan when you’re boiling water and it will use less energy.  Fill the teapot to boil water for tea.  Use what you need and put the rest in a thermos to keep it hot for the next usage.

 

Do you have any good water tips to add? 

