Here are a few tips from a local Nairobi paper along with some sayings to help you with the challenge of my aforementioned “stop using plastic bags” post.  Now I’m all about being simple and not adding tons of work to my life just to save a tree here and there but I want to assure you that it’s not ‘just a tree’ and that there is much more at stake.  Please refer to my previous post and my References page for more information.

Use it up, wear it out, make it do, do without.

Use old newspapers to clean mirrors and windows instead of paper towel.  This helps to reduce risk and is using something you already have as opposed to buying one more product.  You can add to this by cleaning with simple vinegar which is a good cleaner that can be used on windows and mirrors and dries streak-free.  In addition, cleaning on a cloudy day also will help prevent streaking.

Boil a cup of water in the microwave to help loosen the cooked on leftovers.  That will make it easier to clean and provide less need for industrial harsh chemicals.

Use baking soda to wipe the inside of the fridge: it scrubs and eliminates odors without damaging the surface.  Come on now, how many of you already have a box of baking soda in the fridge anyway?

Who could forget: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.

Think twice before you buy that treat for yourself or someone else.  Is it needed/wanted?  Will anyone benefit from its purchase really?  How about trying an alternate gift idea like I’ve mentioned before; make a donation in someone’s name.  I’ve done this and people seem to really enjoy it.  Last year I donated money to Big Brothers Big Sisters where my sister works and it was special to people.  Their gift helped kids and it was personal because Sarah works there.  For more information on that specifically contact Sarah.

